Skip to content

Catching up with Supernatural

October 2, 2012

Back when Supernatural first premiered on what I think was still the WB at the time I was a little busy buying a new house with my new wife Diane.  As a huge fan of the original Kolchak series I was definitely interested in it but, just couldn’t seem to set aside the time.  Along comes Cindy (my sister) who two Christmasses back gave Diane and I Seasons 1 and 2 of Supernatural on DVD as a present.  It didn’t do much for Diane but, I really enjoyed it.  This proved convenient for my sister who now had an easy source of birthday and holiday presents for the next year.  I ultimately picked up season 5 and 6 on my own and was thinking that some day I would like to catch up to the show real-time (meaning that I could actually watch it as it aired).  I didn’t think it would be likely this year as I had already made a big effort to do the same with Leverage.  That was until one of my friends at the game shop mentioned that Netflix just put season 7 up on their streaming service.  So, I’m already 4 episodes into season 7 and should be able to join the show real-time with the fourth episode of season 8.  One thing that I have to say really surprises me about this show is that I don’t hear a lot of Christians being offended by it.  I mean, first of all Sam and Dean stop the biblical apocalypse from happening and, now, all of the christian entities (angels, demons, etc.) are off script and are running amok as they don’t seem to know what to do with themselves.  Personally, I love it.

One Comment
  1. My daughter and I love this show and we’ve been watching since episode 1 and she was 12 years old. I am constantly amazed at how this show doesn’t get more negative (and positive) press. One of my personal favorites.

Leave a Reply

