Skip to content

A network series I may follow

October 9, 2012

There was a news story that came out recently that didn’t seem to get the attention that I felt it deserved. The announcement was that Joss Whedon would be doing a S.H.I.E.L.D. tv series for ABC. When S.H.I.E.L.D. first showed up in the Marvel universe in Strange Tales 135 it stood for Supreme Headquarter International Espionage Law-Enforcement Division (today it stands for whatever it is in the Marvel films). It was created in 1965 back when spy organizations with names that were acronyms were that much cooler. Remember the 1964 television series The Man from U.N.C.L.E.? I’ll save you a trip to Wikipedia. U.N.C.L.E. stands for United Network Command for Law and Enforcement. For those unfamiliar with the S.H.I.E.L.D. stories from the original comics, imagine the James Bond universe with Q having a budget roughly equivalent to the Apollo program. For example, check out that giant bad-ass gun that Nick Fury is drawing that is conveniently not showing up the Hydra scanner on the cover ST 135. I’ll also preemptively save some of you a potential trip to Wikipedia by telling you that Hydra is not an acronym for anything. You could also get a feel for the organization by watching The Avengers movie as it captures the high tech spy outfit quite well. I’m really excited about the prospects for this series because I was a huge Nick Fury fan when I was a kid. The fact that we shared the same first name probably didn’t hurt but, what I liked more about the character was he and the other members of S.H.I.E.L.D. at the time didn’t really have any super powers. They had their high-end technology but, at the end of the day they were still just a group of regular Joes trying to protect humanity from insanely overpowered super villains. It made for a very different and very fertile ground for story-telling. My one concern is that the show will be on network tv but, with Mr. Whedon at the helm, and his previous experience in this area, I’m cautiously optimistic that things will go well. Of course, the occasional visit from Samuel L. Jackson, Jeremy Renner, or Scarlet Johansson (who totally owns the role of Black Widow) wouldn’t hurt either.

From → News

2 Comments
  1. Nick, ST 135 is safely tucked away in my attic with the complete Fury ST run, and the original Steranko SHIELD. I probably bought most of them with you at various Albany comic cons. Ah, the memories.

  2. How could I forget. You were the one that introduced me to comic book conventions in the first place. I still thank you to this day although my wallet probably has other feelings

Leave a Reply

