Skip to content

I won!

October 14, 2012

So, I’m hopping onto Facebook this moring when I see one of the hosts of the British Invaders podcast has posted a message that he will give away a copy of the series The Last Enemy to the first person to PM him.  I also notice that his post had already been read by five people but, being the cheap bastard that I am (15 years of child support payments will do that to you) I figure, what the hell.  Three hours later I get a PM back that I won!  I’m not used to winning stuff so, I figured to thank them I would talk a little bit about one of my favorite podcasts.  British Invaders is a podcast that talks about British genre television.  It started back in April of 2007 and, I started with it about a year or two after that I think.  Your hosts are Brian Doob from Canada and Eamonn Clarke from Britain.  Brian initially did the show with a different host whose name I can’t remember (sorry,  I’m pretty horrible with names) but, he left around episode 10 at which point Eamonn joined and it’s been smooth sailing ever since.  The podcast is great if you are at all interested in genre tv and, I really can’t recommend it highly enough, which I would have said even if I hadn’t won the DVD from them.  The format of the show is to cover an entire series in two episodes which are released every other week (called fortnightly in the UK).  For those unfamiliar with British genre tv, you might think there aren’t enough series to go all that long but, they are currently on episode 139 which is part one of their discussion of Captain Scarlet and the Mysterons.  Most people will no doubt be familiar with Doctor Who and Space: 1999.  However, there are a bunch more series than that.  I was already more familiar with British genre tv than most (yeah, I know I need a life) but, I have learned about a number of excellent series from their podcast.  One such series is Jekyll which is a modern day reinterpretation of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (and which is conveniently available on Netflix streaming in the US).  They also cover British made-for-tv movies.  A pair of time travel movies I learned about and have since checked out are The Flip Side of Dominic Hyde and Another Flip for Dominic (sorry, you’re on your own for those two as they aren’t readily available in the US).  I’m a bit of an anglophile when it comes television in general but, I would still recommend that you check out the British Invaders podcast to see what genre tv is like on the other side of the pond.  You may be pleasantly surprised by the result.

From → Random Thoughts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

