Skip to content

The Krampus Job

December 28, 2012
leverage2

I’m really going to miss these guys.

As many of you know, I have been spending a bunch of my time catching up real time (i.e. the actual broadcasts) with a number of series that I had been watching on Netflix and/or DVD.  One of those series was Leverage and I actually got to watch the fifth season as it aired on TNT.  The channel also decided to split the fifth season to run the final five episodes over December.  The final episode of the season aired on Christmas day.  It also turned out to be the series finale, which I had not appreciated until after I watched it.  The episode was spectacular and the resolution made me wonder if there would be a sixth season.  Sure enough, I find an article from the 22nd announcing that TNT had decided to cancel Leverage.  Normally, this sort of news would piss me off as I really like the show but, in this case, I have to say that the rock solid finale makes me feel ok about the series ending.  Short hints had been dropped throughout the season that something big was coming for the final episode and, the payoff did not disappoint.  The team goes after a huge score with one of the most elaborate cons they have ever done.  An added bonus for me was the appearance of actress Catherine Dent who was one of the regular characters on The Shield, which is pretty much my all-time favorite tv series.  Of course, it took me awhile to remember what part she played that I was recognizing her from.  Fortunately, my wife is faster than my ability to use my Ipod and told me who she was as soon as I showed her the actress.  On top of everything else, the episode ended with a wonderful resolution for two of the main characters.  Like I said, I would normally be angry about the series cancellation but, given the choice, I always prefer a series going out on a high note and this was one of the highest.  I can also take comfort in knowing that there are a lot of people who haven’t seen Leverage yet that I will be able to introduce to the show in the future.  I’ve been a bit of a booster for the show getting my parents and one of my work colleagues into it.  So, there is still something for me to do with the series that will make me happy even though its over.

One thing that has always puzzled me about this series is TNT’s treatment of it.  For the first season they showed the episodes out of production order.  If the show were purely episodic this wouldn’t be an issue but, it’s not as their are story elements that make no sense in the order TNT aired them.  Then there was the whole lack of advertising issue, which is why I am always trying to sell the show to people.  In fact, the way I found out about the show was an advertisement in a movie theater when the fourth season was starting (hence the whole catching up on DVD journey).  I would thing a channel, especially a cable channel that has considerably fewer programs to offer, would be a little more enthusiastic about their own product.  Speaking to this point, during the finale TNT took the opportunity to advertise the hell out of a bunch of new series that I can safely say I have zero interest in checking out.  The theme of Leverage featuring a team of Robin Hoods bringing justice to those without the resources was pretty unique whereas more doctor and lawyer shows are not.  Of course, I’ll still be watching Falling Skies on TNT but that’s about it.  Another plus side here is that this will free up my summer viewing schedule which I desperately needed as summer was my heaviest watching load (maybe fall now that I think about it but, they are both close).  Sure, I’ll miss the crew of Nate, Sophie, Parker, Elliot and Hardison but, I have the first four seasons on DVD and will certainly pick up the fifth at this point as I’m sure I will be revisiting the series a number of times in the future.

From → News, Random Thoughts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

