Skip to content

Lost Girl season one

January 1, 2013

lg1When SyFy announced they would be airing season 3 of Lost Girl this January my first thought was awesome, except for the part where I haven’t seen the first two season yet.  I had been wanting to check out this series for a year and a half now and can pretty squarely lay the blame for this at Kevin Bachelder’s feet as he was the guy who I learned about the series from and, after his excellent recommendation for Charlie Jade, I had good reason to trust his judgement.  Going back to SyFy’s announcement, I learned, again from Kevin, that season one was going live on Netflix streaming.  It was not enough to catch me up to real time but, it was a good opportunity to check out the show.  I finished up the first season and I thought I would share my thoughts.

One thing a new series can do to really impress me is come out swinging and Lost Girl does just that.  Generally speaking, a pilot for a new series is a work in progress and, one thing that most people aren’t aware of is that the second episode of a series is effectively a second pilot.  As a result of this, I will generally give a new series five episodes before I decide whether it’s something I will keep up with or not.  Lost Girl had me on the first hour which is something few shows have done.  Supernatural is the only other show that comes to mind at the moment but, I’m sure there would be more if I thought about it awhile.  The premise of the show is the central character whose “name” is Bo.  She has a problem in that when she gets intimate with people she tends to kill them by sucking the life force out of them, literally.  The reason I put her name in quotes is that we learn Bo’s name because it is the name on the fake ID on what looks to a stack of them she takes with her when she decides to run after leaving another body.  She has apparently been on the run for some time given her unfortunate ability.  We quickly learn that Bo is, in fact, a succubus and that she is a fae (faerie) and that the fae world exists hidden from the human world.  It has also been hidden from Bo which seems to be non-standard practice for the fae and, the mystery surrounding the reason for this is the story arc for the entire first season.  Believe it or not, I haven’t really spoiled anything as all of what I have revealed so far is sorted out fairly quickly in the first episode.  Lost Girl has a good deal going for it.  The acting is great and the characters are all well thought out.  One great character in particular is Kenzi.  She is effectively Bo’s sidekick and really makes the show worth watching just for her antics alone.  The only potential complaint I could level at the show is that it is the now cliche fantastic world hidden from human view setting popularized by show like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and, more recently, True Blood.  What makes it work for me, in addition to the strong writing, is that it uses faerie mythology and doesn’t try to clean it up at all.  Faeries in myth tend to have the two unpleasant characteristics of treating humans like cattle and, being compulsive liars (I generally use another way to describe this but, am trying to keep this blog family friendly).  The faerie world is split into two sides the Seelie and Unseelie courts which Lost Girl captures perfectly but, calls them good and evil to simplify things for the average viewer.  Given the fae’s overall attitudes towards humans the better descriptors would be “jerks” and “bigger jerks”.  What really makes the setting work is that the writers are clearly well versed in their mythology and are very comfortable writing within that world.

I had originally thought that I wouldn’t be able to catch up with this show in time for the third season but, Netflix decided to accomodate everyone interested in doing so by also putting up season two of the series.  There was an error when it was originally added that had the entire season in reverse order but, as of this morning, that has been corrected.  If I’ve done the math correctly, I should be able to get to real time by episode 3 of the third season.  What helped a little here was that the first season finale left me so anxious that I broke my normal rule of only one episode per day to watch the season opener of the second season.  It was definitely worth it.  Overall, I can really give a strong recommendation to Lost Girl as a series that is very worth your time to checking out.

From → Reviews

Leave a Reply

