Skip to content

My DVD schedule

March 10, 2013

imagesIn addition to the shows that I’m watching during their regular seasons, I also go through stuff on DVD and Netflix streaming.  I have about three such shows that I am watching in these formats at any given time.  The first is what I call my priority series and is the DVD/Netflix series that is always at the top of my priority list.  This translates into me watching one episode every day with the exception of Tuesdays which is the night I go to play board games at the local game shop.  The next show is whatever anthology series I happen to be working on at the moment.  This is currently Tales from the Darkside which I have to say is holding up better than I thought it would.
Finally, there is the “catch it as I can” series.  What this means in practice is that I generally watch two episodes a week, usually one on each day of the weekend.  This is currently flipping back and forth between The 4400 and Stargate SG-1.

For my priority show I just finished up the BBC series Jekyll (a review will follow shortly) and, to my surprise realized I hadn’t planned ahead for a new one.  Suddenly, I remembered that Farscape had been sitting on my Netflix streaming queue for awhile now.  Since this is currently the most highly rated genre show that I hadn’t seen yet it occured to me that now would be the time.  Of course, in the impeccable timing that I seem to have with this service I discovered that Farscape was no longer available via streaming.

In the throws of questioning why it is exactly I keep sending Netflix my money every month, my friend Kevin Bachelder came to the rescue.  Kevin is an incredibly supportive guy who seems to be working toward the goal of appearing on every genre related podcast in the universe (a goal which I wholeheartedly support, by the way).  Anyway, he took enough time out of his busy schedule to lend me his complete Farscape DVD set.  Amazingly the set arrived in what the two of us could only describe as a land speed record for media mail.  I’m already two episodes in and just wanted to thank Kevin publicly for his generosity.  If you want to hear Kevin for yourself he can be found at a couple of places.  First is his weekly Saturday B Movie Reel podcast that largely focuses on the SyFy channels steady stream of original movies.  It can be found at this link and I wanted to take this moment to also congratulate him on hitting his 100th episode.  The other place you can find Kevin is on the Tuning into Sci-Fi TV podcast where he discusses genre tv series along with the two other hosts Brent and Wendy which can also be found at the above link.  Kevin is a scholar and a gentleman and you should definitely check out his podcast.

2 Comments
  1. I’ll be interested to see what you think of Farscape. It’s always held a special place in my geek heart, and I remember how cutting edge it was when it first aired. Also, it was cool to see the work of the Henson studios with all their creatures and aliens and such.

  2. Farscape is a series I really want to watch. Last November, I finally watched the first episode while on a plane trip. I must look into acquiring this series.

Leave a Reply

