Skip to content

Springtime for Joffrey

March 26, 2013
imagesCAU52MSV

Why siblings shouldn’t have kids, number one of a series.

It’s spring, regardless of whatever bizarro weather we are currently experiencing in New Jersey.  So, it is time to discuss what upcoming series I’ll be checking out for the spring season.  To be honest here, I actually consider it the first half of the summer tv season.  I don’t really think there is a spring tv season.  The first two shows are big ones for me.  On March 30th the second half of Doctor Who’s seventh series begins.  I could go on at length about this show and, I pretty much do here if you look back through my previous postings, so I’ll just say that I’m looking forward to the new companion Clara as the mystery surrounding her seems to be a major story arc for the remainder of this series.  The other big show is, of course, A Game of Thrones.  This is easily the best fantasy series ever done on television and is definitely worth checking out for any genre tv fan.  Going almost chronologically, the next show is a new one that will be one of two new tryout shows for me this season and that is the BBC series Orphan Black which also premiers on March 30th.  It’s a series about a clone which is territory that hasn’t been over done in genre tv so, it should, hopefully, be interesting.  It’s not genre but, Mad Men’s sixth season will be premiering on April 7th.  Fortunately, the gap between seasons was a normal one this time so I won’t have to watch the previous season, like I did last time, to remember where I am.  Next up is the other new series Defiance which will premier on SyFy on April 15.  This series better be awesome as I effectively lost Alphas, which I liked a lot, for it.  It has Julie Benz in it so, that’s a good start.  People may recognizer her from any number of shows but, Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Dexter would probably be the two most likely ones.  Defiance is also based on an MMORPG that’s launching at roughly the same time which strikes me as a bit of a dicey proposition.  The last one of those I played regularly was City of Heroes although the wife has recently gotten me started on Day Z.  New MMORPGs are not necessarily guaranteed successes so, it will be interesting to see how this all plays out for SyFy.  I still can’t believe they passed on a Battlestar Galactica: Blood and Chrome series, whatever.  Last and pretty much least for me is Warehouse 13 which, I guess, is entering the second half of the fourth season on April 29th and, no that doesn’t make any sense to me either.  This series jumped the shark for me personally when it went from a mix of science and magic to pretty much totally magic.  This is completely on me as it’s pretty clear that the show had to go that way based upon how they decided the warehouse(s) actually work.  I guess I’m still watching it because of the characters.  I’m also guessing that the planned H.G. Wells spin-off series is toast at this point as well, which is too bad as I would have definitely checked that out.  So, that’s what I’ll be up to starting in five days.  As my folks are fond of saying it keeps me off the streets.  I’ll follow up with my second half of summer schedule at the end of May.

One Comment
  1. Idea: Joffey as a new companion for the Doctor.

Leave a Reply

