Skip to content

A tale of two series

February 25, 2014

In news that would make the Dead Television Society happy, two genre tv series may be returning from the great beyond.  News stories recently broke for the two series Farscape and Heroes.

farscape

These two might be coming back.

Starting with Farscape, it looks like a script by series writer Justin Monjo is getting some serious attention.  It apparently takes place 19 years after the end of the Peacekeeper Wars and features John and Aeryn’s son D’Argo who they hid on Earth to keep him off the radar of people like Scorpius.  I guess the story would be about D’Argo discovering his true heritage and going from there.  The news at this point is that this would be a feature film shot in Australia.  While this would be nice I would prefer a new series myself (remember the name of this blog) but, at this point I’ll take any new Farscape I can get.  Of course, this is only the most preliminary of stages of the project so I’m not going to get too excited until I see more activity.

The second bit of news is that NBC just announced it will be bringing Heroes back for a thirteen episode run in 2015.  I wasn’t a Heroes fan the first go round for a bunch of reasons but, before I go into those, I just wanted to say that I’m a live and let live kind of guy when it comes to tv shows.  If you liked Heroes, that’s great.  Not all genre shows are going to appeal to all genre fans.  So, while I’m going to talk about the problems that kept me from enjoying the show, I want to make it clear that these are my idiosyncrasies and mine alone.  I am perfectly comfortable owning them.  Like I said before, if you liked the show, I’m honestly happy for you.  This is the same view I have about the series Revolution that my wife and older son watch and I’m glad they enjoy it.  Ultimately, more genre tv is better than less in my book.

heroes

And this certainly will be coming back.

For myself, I got about a third of the way through season one of Heroes before I basically got bored with it.  As I’ve said before, I’m a bit obsessed with superhero literature so, this along with Diane’s recommendation were probably the two factors that overrode my normal prejudice against a network show enough for me to give it a shot.  Unfortunately, a bunch of things went wrong for me that I mostly blamed on network requirements at the time. This might have been unfair but, then again, because of their size they are kind of an easy target.  So, what went wrong?  Well, a lot of it has to do with the characters.  I really liked the cheerleader.  She was easily the person whose story I was most interested in.  Unfortunately, there was another major character that had pretty much the exact opposite effect on me and that was Peter.  For some reason Peter was a colossal turn off for me.  I remember not liking him or his older brother or his mother.  It was pretty much a clean sweep for the whole Petrelli family I guess.  I vaguely remember thinking he whined too much but, I honestly don’t recall at this point.  Then there was Hiro.  They naively, in my opinion, gave this guy the power to travel throughout all of time and space.  You know who else has that ability?  The Doctor from Doctor Who.  The problem is that this ability makes The Doctor so cool that he has an entire series devoted solely to him which has been successful enough to be running for the better part of 50 years now.  So, obviously this is a popular enough character concept that it’s going to be really hard to avoid having Heroes turn into Hiro.  Oh yeah, I also wasn’t super fond of Hiro as character either but, he didn’t inspire me to switch the channel like Peter did.  As if this wasn’t enough already, they kept introducing new characters at a pretty alarming rate so the one character I really liked kept getting less and less air time.  In any case, after episode eight I was pretty much done with the series largely due to lack of interest.

As a side note, I’m also puzzled as to why they are calling it a 13 episode miniseries.  A six episodes series strikes me as pushing the upper limit of what one could reasonably describe as a miniseries.  Given the current American network season consists of 22 episodes, you can’t even call it a half-season anymore.  In fact, most of the cable channel original series I watch have operated on 13 episode seasons for quite some time now.  Even Sleepy Hollow had a 13 episode first season and that was on a network.  Maybe they are calling it that as the plan is to not have a following season but if the show ends up getting good ratings that’s not likely to remain the case.  Just look as what CBS did to Under the Dome when it proved to be a hit.

So, will I check out the new Heroes when it arrives?  I’ll probably surprise a bunch of people by saying maybe.  It still has the network strike going against it for me but, on the flip side, Tim Kring has had the opportunity to learn from his mistakes on the first series which I obviously found more plentiful than most other Heroes viewers.  People tend to learn more from their mistakes than successes so that may be enough of an incentive for me to check out the new Heroes.

From → News, Random Thoughts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

